Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Voyage, voyages...
7 novembre 2008

A trip to the south - New Zealand, South Island, part 3

To reach the east coast of the southern island from the west, a nice way is to take the Southern Scenic Road. This road brings you right to the south and then follows the south coast till Dunedin. I did the drive in two days, stopping several times for pictures and food. I also stopped in a farm where I watched a swedish couple trying sheep shearing (a national sport here) and lamb feeding. That was quite bucolic... I stopped for the night in a small place on the coast, known as a good surfing spot, and where a penguin colony is settled. I was lucky to see two of them in the evening, while they were coming out of the water on their way to their nests. They are so small, and so funny while moving. The next day I drove to Dunedin, a very nice and historical city. On the way, I visited Nugget Point and the Otago peninsula, two major sites for wildlife viewing. Penguins, seals and Royal Albatrosses are living there, amongst other. It's unbelievable how they keep this region wild and preserved. Awesome again...

By www.comboost.com - Diaporama pleine page - Visiter les albums

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité
Voyage, voyages...
Archives
Derniers commentaires
Publicité